Early Career Conference Awards 2011 – winners announced!

The Board of SLA Europe is delighted to announce the four winners of the SLA Europe Early Career Conference Award (ECCA) 2011. The winners, who will attend the annual SLA Conference in Philadelphia, 12-15 June 2010, are Chris Cooper, Natalia Madjarevic, Ned Potter, and Samuel Wiggins.

Chris Cooper is an Information Specialist at Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, where he specialises in health technology assessments. Chris graduated from University College London in 2009 with an MA in Information Studies, and is currently undertaking a PhD at King’s College London. Chris is co-sponsored by the Pharmaceutical and Health Technology Division.

Natalia Madjarevic graduated from University College London in 2009 with an MA in Library and Information Studies. Prior to this, Natalia did a traineeship at The Guardian & The Observer Research and Information Department. She currently works at Queen Mary University of London as Information Assistant – Electronic Services. Natalia is co-sponsored by the Business and Finance Division.

Ned Potter works in the field of digitisation at the University of Leeds. Ned graduated from the University of Northumbria in 2009 with an MSc in Information and Library Management. Ned is professionally very active, and is the founder of the LIS New Professionals Network (LISNPN). Ned is co-sponsored by the Leadership and Management Division.

Samuel Wiggins is currently enrolled on the MA Librarianship course at the University of Sheffield, where he plans to write his dissertation on ‘the effect of pay-wall and changing business models on information management in legal firms’. Before starting his MA, Samuel was a graduate trainee at Norton Rose LLP. Samuel is co-sponsored by the Legal Division.

The Award covers all expenses, including Conference registration, transportation, food, lodging and incidental expenses, as well as one-year membership in SLA. In return, the Award winners participate and assist in their co-sponsoring Division’s events during the Conference and report on their experience in Division and SLA Europe newsletters/blogs.

Announcing the winners, SLA Europe President Sara Batts said: ‘I am really pleased to welcome Ned, Chris, Natalia and Sam to SLA Europe. The selection panel was faced with a difficult task to choose from such a talented and enthusiastic pool of applicants in this, the fifth year of the awards. I am sure our four winners will find the conference experience and its related opportunities a real filip to their professional development and career.’

The SLA Europe ECCA is given to LIS professionals who have been working for less than five years or are enrolled in a European graduate-level programme in the LIS field. Applicants must have excellent English language skills and not have previously attended an SLA annual conference. The application process involves three steps: writing an essay; securing a recommendation from their line manager or a current faculty member in their programme; and providing an up-to-date résumé.

Co-Sponsored by SLA Europe, Business & Finance Division, Legal Division, Pharmaceutical and Health Technology Division and Leadership & Management Division

4 thoughts on “Early Career Conference Awards 2011 – winners announced!”

  1. RT @slaeurope: Congrats to ECCA winners Chris Cooper, Natalia Madjeravic @nataliafay, Ned Potter @theREALwikiman & Sam Wiggins @shw34 ht …

  2. RT @slaeurope: Congrats to ECCA winners Chris Cooper, Natalia Madjeravic @nataliafay, Ned Potter @theREALwikiman & Sam Wiggins @shw34 ht …

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.